For more information, please contact one of our division team members:

Ivory McCain Grant Specialist (662) 283-2675, Ext. 6128
Reggie Ross Grant Administrator (662) 283-2675, ext. 6117
Tangela Swims Grant Administrator (662) 283-2675, ext. 6134
Beverley Yeoman Grant Administrator (662) 283-2675, ext. 6145

The NCPDD helps with the following Community Development programs:

  • The Community Development Block Grant (CDBG) program is designed to aid in the development of viable communities that provide their residents with decent housing, suitable living environments, and economic opportunities. The three national objectives of the program are: (1) to benefit low- and moderate-income persons, (2) to aid in the prevention of slums and blight, and (3) to eliminate.
  • The Homeowner Rehabilitation Program allows local communities to use HOME funds to improve their housing situation by reconstruction or rehabilitation of dilapidated housing. The program provides low and very low-income families with decent, safe, and sanitary housing.
  • The Development Infrastructure Grant Program (DIP)provides funding for publicly-owned infrastructure needs. A municipality or county must apply on behalf of a new or expanded industry based on the public infrastructure needs of the project. Usage of the funds must be directly related to the construction, renovation, or expansion of industry.
  • The Capital Improvements Revolving Loan Program is designed to make loans to counties and municipalities to finance capital improvements in Mississippi. Counties and municipalities are encouraged to use these loans in connection with state and federal programs. Funding for loans to applicants is derived from the issuance of state bonds. CAP was enacted by the State Legislature.
  • The Delta Regional Authority (DRA) assists in severe and chronic economic distress by stimulating economic development partnerships that will have a positive impact on the region's economy.

DRA funding is given to four types of projects:

  1. Basic Public Infrastructure
  2. Transportation Infrastructure
  3. Business Development, and
  4. Job Training and Employment-related Education. DRA funds may also be used to leverage other federal and state programs. Under federal law, 75 percent of funds are targeted to distressed counties and pockets of poverty, and 50 percent of dollars are earmarked for transportation and basic public infrastructure.
  • The Recreational Trails Program (RTP) is an 80/20 match program for the development of substantial motorized and non-motorized trails. The RTP program was designed to encourage the construction of new trail projects that benefit the environment and the redesign, reconstruction, non-routine maintenance, or relocation of trails that mitigate and minimize the impact on the natural environment. Project sponsors are encouraged to work in partnership with trail-user groups, volunteer groups, the business community, and local, state, and federal agencies to develop projects that benefit the various modes of trail use in a safe and satisfying manner.
  • The Land and Water Conservation Funds (LWCF) program provides 50/50 matching reimbursable grants for the development of public outdoor recreation areas and facilities. Two types of projects that are available for funding assistance are combination and development projects. The combination Project is the Acquisition of property and recreational development of the same property. The Development Project is the recreational development of existing public property.
  • The Mississippi Small Municipalities and Limited Population Counties Grant Program (SMLPC) is designed to make grants to small municipalities and limited population counties or natural gas districts to finance projects to promote economic growth in the state. Grants are available to municipalities with a population of 10,000 or less and counties with a population of 30,000 or less. Eligible projects financed with SMLPC must be publicly owned and address at least one of the priorities listed below.
  • Appalachian Regional Commission (ARC) is an economic development partnership entity of the federal government and 13 state governments focusing on 423 counties across the Appalachian Region. This included two counties in NCPDD's region (Montgomery and Yalobusha). ARC's mission is to innovate, partner, and invest to build community capacity and strengthen economic growth in Appalachia.
  • USDA-RD Community Facilities Direct Loan & Grant program provides affordable funding to develop essential community facilities in rural areas. An essential community is defined as a facility that provides an essential service to the local community for the orderly development of the community in a primarily rural area and does not include private, commercial, or business undertakings. Eligible borrowers include public bodies, Community-based non-profit corporations, and Federally recognized Tribes. Eligible rural areas are counties, cities, towns, and federally recognized tribal lands. Funds can be used to purchase, construct, and/or improve essential community facilities to purchase equipment.
  • Rural Business Development Grants (RBDG) is a competitive grant designed to support targeted technical assistance, training, and other activities leading to developing or expanding small and emerging private businesses in rural areas with fewer than 50 employees and less than $1 million in gross revenues. Those who may apply for this program are Towns, Communities, State Agencies, Authorities, Non-profit Corporations, Institutions of Higher Education, federally recognized Tribes, and Rural Cooperatives.
  • Economic Development Administration (EDA) programs support three types of grant activities: strategic planning, project implementation, and revolving loan funds. It is beneficial to local governments by providing grant assistance to construct necessary infrastructure improvements in industrial parks.